University-wide General Education Committee AY 2012

The University-wide General Education Committee (UWGEC) participates in the shared governance process of the University of Arizona.  The UWGEC Chair reports to and serves on the Undergraduate Council.  The UWGEC's mission, as authorized by the Faculty Senate, is to review and approve all courses that satisfy General Education Requirements, to periodically assess existing courses, to make recommendations on policy related to General Education, and to disseminate information about  General Education to the campus community.  Effective in Fall 2010, the Committee is also responsible for the review and approval of all Success Courses--those that meet the definition as stated in the General Catalog.

 A.Y. 2012-2013 Membership:

Name

Title

Represents

Phone

Email

Voting

Taylor Ashton

 

Student Representative: Undergraduate

 

taylorjashton@email.arizona.edu

Yes

Victor Braitberg

Assistant Professor, Honors

Honors College

621-6901

victorb@email.arizona.edu

Yes

Katie Burns Al Masaeed

 

Student Representative: Graduate

 

keburns@email.arizona.edu

Yes

Malcolm Compitello

Dept. Head, Spanish & Portuguese

Foundations: Second Language

621-7347

compitel@email.arizona.edu

Yes

Regina Deil-Amen

Associate Professor, Higher Education

Education, Nursing & Pharmacy

621-8468

reginad1@email.arizona.edu

Yes

Anna Dornhaus

Associate Professor, EEB

Science

626-5565

dornhaus@email.arizona.edu

Yes

Thomas Fleming, Chair

Senior Lecturer, Astronomy

Science

621-5049

taf@as.arizona.edu

Yes

Amy Fountain

Lecturer, Linguistics

Social & Behavioral Sciences

621-6987

avf@email.arizona.edu

Yes

Elizabeth George

Assistant Professor, Dance

Fine Arts

621-2905

egeorge@email.arizona.edu

Yes

Robert Indik

Associate Professor, Math

Foundations: Math

621-4599

indik@math.arizona.edu

Yes

Paul Ivey

Associate Professor, Art

Fine Arts

621-1205

pivey@email.arizona.edu

Yes

Kimberly Jones

Associate Dean

Humanities

621-9293

kjones@email.arizona.edu

Yes

Amy Kimme-Hea

Director, Writing Program

Foundations: English Composition

621-1057

kimmehea@email.arizona.edu

Yes

John Leafgren

Associate Professor, Russian and Slavic Studies

Humanities

621-5825

leafgren@email.arizona.edu

Yes

Chris Maloney

Professor, Philosophy

Social & Behavioral Sciences

621-5046

maloney@email.arizona.edu

Yes

Elaine Marchello

Assistant Dean, Agriculture & Life Sciences

Agriculture & Life Sciences

621-3058

evm@email.arizona.edu

Yes

Paul Reimer

Lecturer, Architecture

Architecture & Landscape Architecture

621-6753

preimer@email.arizona.edu

Yes

Jennifer Ricketts

Lecturer, Nutritional Sciences

Agriculture & Life Sciences

621-7612

jrickett@ag.arizona.edu

Yes

Mark Stegeman

Associate Professor, Economics

Eller College of Management

626-0680

stegeman@eller.arizona.edu

Yes

TBD

 

Engineering

 

 

Yes

Ex-Officio Members

Roxie Catts

Director, Advising Resource Center

Advisory Member: Advising Resource Center

626-7988

catts@email.arizona.edu

Ex-Officio

Fernando Chavez

Assistant Registrar

Advisory Member: Office of the Registrar

626-7337

fchavez@email.arizona.edu

Ex-Officio

Yvonne Mery

Assistant Librarian

Advisory Member: University Library

626-3850

meryy@u.library.arizona.edu

Ex-Officio

Celeste Pardee

Curriculum Associate

Advisory Member: Office of Curricular Affairs

621-5375

cpardee@email.arizona.edu

Ex-Officio

Debra Tomanek

Assistant Vice Provost for Instruction & Assessment

Office of Instruction & Assessment

621-7380

dtomanek@email.arizona.edu

Ex-Officio

TBD

 

Advisory Member: Office of Instruction & Assessment

   

Ex-Officio

TBD

 

Advisory Member: Transfer & Curriculum Articulation

   

Ex-Officio