University-wide General Education Committee AY 2014-2015

The University-wide General Education Committee (UWGEC) participates in the shared governance process of the University of Arizona.  The UWGEC Chair reports to and serves on the Undergraduate Council.  The UWGEC's mission, as authorized by the Faculty Senate, is to review and approve all courses that satisfy General Education Requirements, to periodically assess existing courses, to make recommendations on policy related to General Education, and to disseminate information about  General Education to the campus community.  Effective in Fall 2010, the Committee is also responsible for the review and approval of all Success Courses--those that meet the definition as stated in the General Catalog.

 A.Y. 2014-2015 Membership:

Name

Title

Represents

Phone

Email

Voting

Victor Braitberg

Assistant Professor, Honors

Honors College

621-6901

victorb@email.arizona.edu

Yes

Malcolm Compitello

Dept. Head, Spanish & Portuguese

Foundations: Second Language

621-7347

compitel@email.arizona.edu

Yes

Deborah Dimmett

Assistant Professor of Practice, TLS

Education, Nursing & Pharmacy

626-5307

ddimmett@email.arizona.edu

Yes

Tami Draves

Associate Professor, Music

Fine Arts

621-1655

tdraves@email.arizona.edu

Yes

TBA

 

Engineering

 

 

Yes

Thomas Fleming

Senior Lecturer, Astronomy

Science

621-5049

taf@as.arizona.edu

Yes

Amy Fountain

Lecturer, Linguistics

Social & Behavioral Sciences

621-6987

avf@email.arizona.edu

Yes

TBA

 

Architecture & Landscape Architecture

 

 

Yes

Robert Indik

Associate Professor, Math

Foundations: Math

621-4599

indik@math.arizona.edu

Yes

Kimberly Jones

Associate Dean

Humanities 621-9293 kjones@email.arizona.edu  

John Leafgren

Associate Professor, Russian and Slavic Studies Humanities 621-5825 leafgren@email.arizona.edu Yes

Elaine Marchello

Assistant Dean, Agriculture & Life Sciences

Agriculture and Life Sciences

621-3631

evm@email.arizona.edu

Yes

Jennifer Ricketts, Chair

Lecturer, Nutritional Sciences

Agriculture and Life Sciences

621-6999

jrickett@ag.arizona.edu

Yes

 

 

Student Representative: Undergraduate

 

 

Yes

Mark Stegeman

Associate Professor, Economics

Eller College of Management

626-0680

stegeman@eller.arizona.edu

Yes

Carla Stoffle

Sr. Associate Dean

Social & Behavioral Sciences

621-5221

stofflec@u.library.arizona.edu

Yes

Christine Tardy

Associate Professor, English

Foundations: English Composition

621-1836

ctardy@email.arizona.edu

Yes

Dale Ward Lecturer, Atmospheric Sciences Science 626-7261 ward@atmo.arizona.edu Yes
TBD   Student Representative: Graduate     Yes

Ex-Officio Members

Roxie Catts

Director, Advising Resource Center

Advisory Member: Advising Resource Center

626-7988

catts@email.arizona.edu

Ex-Officio

Fernando Chavez

Assistant Registrar

Advisory Member: Office of the Registrar

626-7337

fchavez@email.arizona.edu

Ex-Officio

Nicole Pagowsky

Assistant Librarian

Advisory Member: University Library

349-8256

pagowskyn@u.library.arizona.edu

Ex-Officio

Celeste Pardee

Curriculum Associate

Advisory Member: Office of Curricular Affairs

621-5375

cpardee@email.arizona.edu

Ex-Officio

Debra Tomanek

Associate Vice Provost for Instruction & Assessment

Office of Instruction & Assessment

621-7380

dtomanek@email.arizona.edu

Ex-Officio

Ryan Foor

Assessment Coordinator

Advisory Member: Office of Instruction & Assessment

621-1328 rfoor@email.arizona.edu

Ex-Officio

TBD

 

Advisory Member: Transfer & Curriculum Articulation

   

Ex-Officio